John Deere Gator Forum - Header Left   John Deere Gator Forum - Header Right

Go Back   John Deere Gator Forums > John Deere Gator General Discussion > Gator General Discussion

Gator General Discussion If you need to talk about the John Deere Gator XUV/SXS/UTV and it does not fit into a more specific section down below, post it in here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2012, 05:59 PM   #1

crazyfarmer is on a distinguished road
XUV 550 blue smoke and power dies

Guys, Im new to the gators but I just got a 550 S4 and it has 18 hours on it now. Ran fine but now when cruising at WOT the power will die and out comes this huge cloud of blue smoke. Ill let off gas and then it goes back to running fine. I have noticed some blue smoke at start up's off and on also. I went back out and attempted but no smoke. However on way back I tried and again the power died and out comes blue smoke. Should I call the dealer?? Concerned that something isnt right here. It wasnt smoking the first week but now this has started. Oil level is fine and it seems to run great just easing around.
crazyfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:21 PM   #2

also at idle its a squeel/whine type sound coming from somewhere around the engine. I think the best bet is it take back to the dealer and have them look it over
Old 09-06-2012, 06:16 AM   #3

Regulator is on a distinguished road
Blue smoke isn't good coming from any engine...take it back to the Dealership and let them see what is causing it to be safe...sounds like this could only get worse over time...better to be safe and let them deal with it now then later on after the warranty is out!!!

Let us know what they find please...I am interested in the cause of that...

Larry in MD
Regulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 05:03 PM   #4

took it back today so I will keep you posted... i cant get it to smoke again which is odd... but its squealing still after warming up at idle
Old 12-14-2012, 08:49 AM   #5