John Deere Gator Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My only problem with my gator is it back fires and sometimes stalls when accelerating T from an idle. The air filter is new It's idling at 1,100 rpm, I adjusted the air gas mixture and adjusted the valves to .005. I don't know if timing is an issue. I am now lost. Anyone have a suggestion? Thanks in advance. Jim

·
Super Moderator
2,704 Posts
Perhaps this will help?

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Confused

I bought a tiny tach to adjust the idle to spec, but to set it I need to know how many time my engine (Briggs & Stratton fires in one revolution. Anybody? I also need to know how to get to the flywheel to adjust the spark. I have never worked on small engines before. Thanks in advance to any and all help. Jim

·
Super Moderator
2,704 Posts
I bought a tiny tach to adjust the idle to spec, but to set it I need to know how many time my engine (Briggs & Stratton fires in one revolution. Anybody? I also need to know how to get to the flywheel to adjust the spark. I have never worked on small engines before. Thanks in advance to any and all help. Jim

Message sent

·
Registered
426 Posts
My only problem with my gator is it back fires and sometimes stalls when accelerating T from an idle. The air filter is new It's idling at 1,100 rpm, I adjusted the air gas mixture and adjusted the valves to .005. I don't know if timing is an issue. I am now lost. Anyone have a suggestion? Thanks in advance. Jim
Ill save you some time and say:dont read the books and wing it.
These backfires on the 550 and 560 are extremely common and mostly due to poor adjustment of the carb and sometimes due to a bad carb or engine problems.
I must add that this caburettor is one of the worst they couldve put on the machine anyway

Usually my check sequence goes like:
-spark
-compression test (if its off it could be valves)
-fuel
-air/fuel (usually ends up being this)
-float height