John Deere Gator Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This seems to be a semi common problem but I am new to gators and can't seem to find my problem. When I turn the key the fuel pump refuses to prime. Pulled fuel line to check for flow and got nothing. I jumped it to the battery and it spun right up. So any help would be great. I'm going to link a YouTube video of a start attempt.
https://youtu.be/TQCv5LnarIU

·
Super Moderator
3,546 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Serial number less than 60,000...so it should be like our 2011. Check for voltage at the connector under the seat, when you turn the key forward to start it. Is this where you applied battery power to it?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I am getting about 3 volts at the connector under the passenger seat. That is where I applied direct voltage from the battery and it powered up. Am I correct in thinking that the blue wire running to the computer under the dash is the power source for the pump? If so I have 10.3 volts with the key on.

Thank y'all so much for taking the time to help me trouble shoot this.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I have 3 volts at the connector for the fuel pump under the seat and 10.3 volts at the pin for the blue wire coming off the pcm in the dash.

·
Registered
249 Posts
Okay. That's not the correct wire, then.

The blue wire for the pump is coming from the Relay Module under the hood. A green wire from the PCM/ECM is what feeds the Relay Module.

·
Registered
249 Posts
The fuse I circled at the top is for the pump. Check that.

Pin 6 goes to the pump on the blue wire. Check there for 12V when trying to start the engine. Can be done without disconecting it.
Pin 3 is the green wire that comes from the PCM.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·