John Deere Gator Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New guy to the forum here and appreciate any thoughts/suggestions before I head to the dealer and am told "you need to spend $1500 on a TPS", or whatever the issue is, for a machine that's 2 years old and with less than 97 hours. :|

I have a 2018 XUV 835M with less than 100 hours on it. Earlier this summer it began spitting and sputtering at start up a little bit. It's gotten a little worse since June. At start up, engine idles around 1050 and slowly spits, sputters almost chokes out as it works it's way down to 940-950 RPM. Once at idle there, and once warm, it seems to flatten out and run fine. That said, I did just put in neutral and sit on the gas and hover at 1900 and I hear a faint miss - perhaps it's something, perhaps it's nothing at all...I'm no mechanic. I did throw in new plugs yesterday to see if that helped. Nada. Old plugs (pic below) might lean a fuzz towards the rich side?

Again, I'm not a mechanic, but can tinker on/figure out things with some assistance and I do like to learn about this stuff. Any and all help on the rough running at start would is very much appreciated.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I am not a mechanic...but
Bad or old gas
Spark plug wires
Have you cleaned your air filter...this is a must do frequently thing
Did you gap those new plugs you put in
Just food for thought
Best of luck... keep us posted

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am not a mechanic...but
Bad or old gas
Spark plug wires
Have you cleaned your air filter...this is a must do frequently thing
Did you gap those new plugs you put in
Just food for thought
Best of luck... keep us posted