John Deere Gator Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I’m new to gators. Just bought a 2021 835m gator. I have less than 20 hrs on it. My question is,
When I’m in low range, going down hill with out my foot on the throttle and at any speed and rpm the Gator will jump out of gear on me and make grinding noises. I can get it back in gear by coming to complete stop or by giving it throttle. Sometimes it even does it on level ground. Can someone please tell me what’s wrong?

·
Registered
2,469 Posts
Why not use the warranty? Let JD resolve and document the issue.

Reactions: Brad Metzger

·
*In memory and respect- RIP*
4,314 Posts
Hi everyone. I’m new to gators. Just bought a 2021 835m gator. I have less than 20 hrs on it. My question is,
When I’m in low range, going down hill with out my foot on the throttle and at any speed and rpm the Gator will jump out of gear on me and make grinding noises. I can get it back in gear by coming to complete stop or by giving it throttle. Sometimes it even does it on level ground. Can someone please tell me what’s wrong?
I believe what you’re describing, is the EBS or engine braking system.

As you travel down hill, the EBS in Secondary Clutch is slowing your decent in the CVT (Continuous Variable Transmission).

Once reach about 3-5 mph, the EBS in the Secondary Clutch releases, which allows “free wheeling” - you described as grinding, until you apply the brakes to come to stop or you lightly feather the accelerator to keep the EBS in the CVT engaged.

Simply put, in order overcome “free wheeling”, lightly feather the accelerator to keep the clutch’s engaged.

If you didn’t receive a copy of the Operators Manual with your purchase, below is a link.

2021 835M Operators Manual

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

As you travel down hill, the EBS in Secondary Clutch is slowing your decent in the CVT (Continuous Variable Transmission).