John Deere Gator Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
My mate has a gator 850 and when he selects forward gear it slams into gear and when he pulls off it also pulls off with a bang and jolts off,
My mate has no internet as he lives where you need a gator just to get to his house this is why i am asking if anyone can hel
Im no mechanic so hope i have described ok be very greatfull for help in sorting this out for him

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
Welcome to the Forum! im not to helpful on the belt side of things yet as im coming from Honda ATVs with a shaft drive. but im sure one of these guys will chime in and help u out much better than i can

·
Registered
153 Posts
Sounds very similar the the machine that I test drove at the dealer before purchasing. I drove it around the dealers lot several times to the tune of 3 miles (big lot). It had a slight shifting issue before I test drove (machine had 7hrs and 20miles beforehand) and was grinding/lurching by the time I was done with my test drive. Mind you I was very hard on the machine during my demo including full throttle starts, etc. I parked the machine and told the salesman I was interested but wanted the clutch/shifting checked out before purchasing. Long story short, they ordered me a new machine and put that one in the shop for a clutch replacement. Salesman was very honest and upfront about the clutch issues that they are having. Sounds like your "mates" machine is having similar issues.

·
Registered
242 Posts
Mine had a shifting issue at 1 time..I repaired it my adjusting the shift cable length back at the trans..My cable is blue with 2 nuts, to lengthen or shorten,, I chose a small hill and would put in high go up the hill just a couple of feet , let of gas and roll back to flat ground..Took me about 30 times to do a fine tune adustment

·
Registered
165 Posts