John Deere Gator Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, folks,

My father just bought a used '95 4x2 Gator, and I have been trying to help him fix a few minor issues with it. I am a pretty good mechanic, but have NO experience with ATVs or Gators, so please be patient.

First, this thing GRINDS when you shift from neutral into either forward or reverse. The belt turns all the time, even at idle, so of course the gears are turning when you try to shift. The belt seems pretty loose at idle, and the primary pulley has plenty of space for the belt- it is nowhere near touching both sides at idle. I have adjusted the idle down lower, which has helped some, but the belt still turns just off of the small amount of friction that is produced between the flat inner surface of the belt and the output shaft of the motor. The belt can be stopped with very light pressure on the secondary pulley, so there's not much force there, just enough to keep it moving. The belt that is on it is a JD RE2871. I feel like that belt shouldn't be turning at idle, and that is what is causing the shifting/grinding problem. Any input on this one?

Also, the brakes squeak/moan at low speeds. It looks like this one has the Kanzaki KT35 transmission, and it appears to have a light hydraulic oil in it and it is at the right level on the stick. From what I can tell the brakes are wet, so would a fluid change be likely to help this issue? Is the correct fluid for this transmission the Hy-Gard fluid?

Finally, I have tried to find an owner's manual for this thing online, but there seem to be lots of different versions, and I cannot tell what I need to cover this old ('95) 4x2 model. Can anyone tell me which version I need? How about the same for a service/repair manual?