John Deere Gator Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Test drove a Gator 855 diesel today, loads of extras, 17 hours on the clock, warn winch, spots, fogs, high back seats, electric tip, brush guards full cab.
What it's missing is power steering, which was surprisingly stiff and a heater, which wasn't as necessary as I thought.
But that's not the reason I've joined a forum about gators.................
How come it's so noisy? I'm a farmer, I wouldn't tolerate this in any other machine! I would need to wear ear defenders in it.
So, I need a solution because I really like the machine even though it was jumping out of gear when in forward high and wouldn't go from forward to reverse with your foot on the brake. It got stuck on the test drive with the owner driving it. It still has a years warranty and I think it's probably cable adjustment but perhaps you could enlighten me about that too?
Anyway noise noise noise, I need a solution !!! Thanks guys!!!!
Oh and have test drove cub cadet and Kubota and the gator is streets ahead.

·
Registered
46 Posts
First off, welcome to the forum, Farmermick!

The shift problems sound like the linkage needs adjustment - or possibly something is bent. Should be easily fixed, but it seems like some JD dealerships aren't quite as adept as other. :(

As for the noise, I have experience with a couple of 825i's (including my own) and a neighbor/friend's 850D. All are open, not cabbed, however. (My machine has a roof and windshield; the others are totally open.) The diesel 850D is definitely louder than my machine, but not to the point that you need hearing protection. (The gas machines are not as quiet as I'd like either.)